Interests

Books

I like reading for leisure. I currently have enough books to keep me occupied for the next 7-8 months. After that I will try to buy these books.

Music

I am trying to teach myself some piano. I do not have time to take organised lessons, so I am sticking to online tutorials and self practice. Hopefully, some day I will be able to play some real music.

Biking

Biking was my primary sport during PhD. I like uphill or long distance biking on my mountain bike. I can handle 1000m climbs at 7% average elevation and I have managed 101km in 6 hours with minimal (~300m) elevation. My dream is to do La Bonnet someday; I dreamt of doing this before completing my PhD. I tried some long bike rides outside Boston and it was fun. I am hoping to restart biking from spring 2016 around Zurich.

Climbing

I have restarted bouldering at Minimum boulders. I climbed at Brooklyn Boulders and MIT climbing gym while I was in Boston. I compiled a list of climbing gyms in the Boston metropolitan area. Bouldering is a social sport and I am always happy to go with people.

Other sports

My best run was 14 km in 1:04:00 in a bygone era of youth when I was on the happier side of 25. My sensitive left knee does not let me run as often as I should, plus its hard :( I cannot run or bike on a treadmill. There is something about outdoors that keeps me going. I can swim a little – 2km breaststroke in a 1 hour session but my front-crawl is terrible. I like hiking sometimes – Gorges du Verdun (southern France) and Montserrat (Catalonia, Spain) were memorable hikes. I train at ETH Fluntern gym one or twice a week.

Past Hobbies

In days of distant past, I continued an ancestral tradition of philately. I still have the complete collection.