Anna Pogosyants UROP (Undergraduate Research Opportunities) Award

This prize was established in 1996 in memory of Anna Pogosyants, a computer science PhD student who was killed in a car accident in December, 1995. The funds for the award are from private donations made from Anna's friends, colleagues, and family.

2005 Winner of the Tenth Annual Anna Pogosyants UROP Award is Matthew Tschantz (nominated by Michael Ernst).
2004 Winner of the Ninth Annual Anna Pogosyants UROP Award is Adam Smith (nominated by Hari Balakrishnan).
2003 Winner of the Eighth Annual Anna Pogosyants UROP Award is Lauren Clement (nominated by Harold Abelson and Radhika Nagpal).
2002 Winner of the Seventh Annual Anna Pogosyants UROP Award was Chris Luhrs (nominated by Stephen J. Garland and Nancy A. Lynch).
2001 Winner of the Sixth Annual Anna Pogosyants UROP Award was William Thies (nominated by Saman Amarasinghe).
2000 Winner of the Fifth Annual Anna Pogosyants UROP Award was Michael Tsai for his work on the IOA Toolset with Joshua Tauber and Nancy Lynch.
Award announcement of the Fourth award in 1999 -- Elliot Waingold
Award announcement of the Third award in 1998 -- Andrew Chiu and Nick Mathewson
Award Announcement of the Second award in 1997 -- Eytan Adar
Award Certificate of the First award in 1996 -- Tsvetomir Petrov

Original Announcement of the Award:

Starting in February, 1996, an undergraduate student working at "the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL)- formerly known as the Laboratory of Computer Science and the Artificial Intelligence Labortory" will be designated each semester as the ``Anya Pogosyants UROP Student''. This student will be someone who is currently carrying out a UROP project somewhere CSAIL and who has already carried out at least one previous UROP project. The student will receive an award of $500, in addition to his or her regular salary. No student will be allowed to hold the position for more than one semester.

The award-winner will be selected each semester by a committee, (original committee was Steve Garland, Nancy Lynch, Ron Rivest, Randy Davis and Michael Bergren). The basis of selection will be letters of recommendation describing the accomplishments of the previous UROP project. The area of research is not constrained -- selection will be based on quality of work. The award will be funded by contributions from Anya's friends and colleagues. If you wish to contribute (no amount is too small), please contact:

Lissa Natkin
32 Vassar Street (32-G424)
Cambridge, MA 02139

Click here to get to the Theory of Distributed Systems Group homepage.